Why NOT Getting Hazed by my Sorority was Totally Worth It

It saddened me to read the Cosmopolitan article, “Confession: Why Getting Hazed by my Sorority Was Weirdly Worth It,” written by Tess Koman.

I’m a proud member of the Alpha Nu chapter of Alpha Chi Omega. I have a bond with my sisters that is difficult to describe to outsiders. I’ve formed some of the greatest friendships I have ever experienced this past year and a half.

And I was never hazed.

Going into college, I had heard of the negative stereotypes of sorority women, and to be honest, I was a little scared going into recruitment. I didn’t have much background knowledge of what Greek life was, and I had seen news stories about hazing. Was I going to experience that? How could I tell if the girls were being serious when they said they didn’t condone hazing?

Luckily, I found my home at Alpha Chi. I could go on and on about how much I love my sorority, but that is for another time and place.

In her article, Koman states,

“Pledging and getting hazed is horrible. But there’s a reason it’s not going anywhere any time soon.”

But it is going away. Out of my friends who are in various Greek chapters not only at Mizzou, but at other universities, I have heard of a very minimal number of hazing stories. It saddens me to hear that some of my friends decide to stay in an organization that demeans their new members. However, I’m proud of how far the Greek system has come in the past 20+ years.

Sororities were formed in a time where women were the minority in higher education. These Greek organizations began as a way to empower their members to continue their college education and become stronger women. Today, sororities are a home away from home, a family at school, and a place where members can let down their guards and form true friendships that last for a lifetime.

Whether it’s borrowing clothes for a date, curling up into a sister’s bed after a rough day, making a random music video during sisterhood week, or staying in and watching movies when you’re feeling lazy, your sisters are there for you. They rejoice with you when you’ve reached your dreams; they hold you up when you feel like you’ve fallen too far. Your sisters push you to be a better student, and inspire you to be a better human being.

Hazing doesn’t have to be a part of Greek life. You can achieve far more by loving and encouraging your sisters than by demeaning them.

Big Little

I’m thankful to be part of a sorority that promotes the empowerment of the women in our chapter, in our community, and in our world. I hope all future sorority women feel the same love and support that I do from my chapter.

I hope all future sorority women realize that NOT being hazed is totally worth it.

9 thoughts on “Why NOT Getting Hazed by my Sorority was Totally Worth It

  1. This is an awesome post! Thank you for sharing. I just met my first Alpha Chi Omegas here at Brown University. I am a Kappa Delta consultant, but your sisters have been very welcoming!
    All my Panhel love,
    Lauren

  2. Beautifully written Kat! I am so thankful to know an Alpha Chi Omega and woman like you who has experienced and is able to describe the true value of this sisterhood! You are incredible! Great work!

  3. Pingback: National Hazing Prevention Week | Wanna Go, Gotta Go, A-Chi-O

  4. I know that with your philanthropy you work to prevent domestic violence, do you see preventing hazing as something that falls under that? Also, do you find that men on your campus experience hazing still and that it is overlooked because it is “okay” for “MEN” to be hazed.

    • Domestic violence and hazing are completely different problems by definition, however I see the opportunity to empower women in raising awareness for & supporting women in both situations. As to fraternity hazing, I have friends who are in both fraternities that haze and those that don’t, and I see a difference in their brotherhoods, for sure. I think it’s more accepted because they are men, but that doesn’t mean it’s right.

Leave a Reply

